The Month before Christmas

Standard

Twas The Month Before Christmas, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, just the click of a mouse;
The stacks of credit cards were spread out with care, 

In hopes that spending limits would not appear;
The children were nestled all snug in their beds,
While 3-D visions of new iPads danced in their heads.

When out on the lawn there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from the bed to see what was the matter.
Away to the window I flew like a flash, and heard;

“Now, Dasher! now, Dancer! now, Prancer and Vixen!
On, Comet! on Cupid! on, Donder and Blitzen!
To the top of the porch! to the top of the wall!
Now dash away! dash away! take all of her credit cards away all!”


As I drew in my hand, and was turning around,
Down the chimney St. Nicholas came with a bound.

He was dressed all in faux fur, from his head to his foot,
And his clothes were all tarnished 
with ashes and soot, 

A bundle of toys he had flung on his back,
And he looked like a homeless man opening his pack.
His eyes — how they twinkled! He must be on crack!

And I laughed when I saw him, in spite of myself;
Before I told him to get the Hell out of my house.

He spoke not a word, but went straight to his work,
And filled up my table with stacks of  credit card bills,
all marked, PAST DUE.

“You know you’re being naughty and spending without care.  Your kids who won’t leave  until this house is theirs. You spend beyond your means my dear, You’ve been on a fiscal cliff for years.  The rich are different, not like you and me.”


The Holidays are to enjoy with family and friends,  not to spend  what you don’t have to the bitter end!.

Please debt responsibly.

 

Leave a Reply

