“The world is, of course, nothing but our conception of it.” ― Anton Chekhov

Standard

Metaphysical Awareness Month

I pondered the meaning of divorce using a few basic principles of metaphysics as I understood them to the extent that I think therefore I am philosophically impaired.

Space and Time

Raise your hand if your ex uttered any of the following, “I need my space.  We need some space.  I need my own place.  I just need some time to think.”  If so, he was practicing the relation between space and time.  At one time he occupied a space next to you, now he doesn’t.  But the space still exists as does all the time you’ve spent occupying it.

Necessity and possibility

This is a tricky one having to do with the way things could have been versus the way they are.  When applied to divorce, I take this to mean: if you are married then you’re not divorced, but a marriage is required in order for a divorce to take place.  Therefore marriage is a necessity in order for divorce to be a possibility, but a marriage does not necessarily lead to divorce in an alternate world.  In as much as you are divorced, your marriage possibly was not in fact necessary.  In other words, who’s on first?

Change and Identity

If a tree falls, is it still a tree?  If you changed your maiden name to your married name and then back again, are you still the same person?  Has the loss of your married name changed your true identity?  Does the fact that you no longer wear a ring on your ring finger mean that your finger or the ring has changed?  Talk amongst yourselves.

Bottom line

You can blame it all on the universe or join the critics of metaphysics and demand proof of the unprovable which in and of itself is hard to prove.  Matters of the heart are for the most part, inexplicable.

“From the standpoint of daily life, however, there is one thing we do know: that we are here for the sake of each other – above all for those upon whose smile and well-being our own happiness depends, and also for the countless unknown souls with whose fate we are connected by a bond of sympathy. Many times a day I realize how much my own outer and inner life is built upon the labors of my fellow-men, both living and dead, and how earnestly I must exert myself in order to give in return as much as I have received.”
― Albert Einstein

Talk amongst yourself.  Yes, I meant yourself.

Leave a Reply

