Father

Standard

Back when I was a child
Before life removed all the innocence
My father would lift me high and dance with my mother and me and then
Spin me around ‘til I fell asleep
Then up the stairs he would carry me
And I knew for sure I was loved

If I could get another chance, another walk, another dance with him
I’d play a song that would never ever end
How I’d love, love, love
To dance with my father again

My father died when I was a child.  I never got to know him as an adult.  For me, he will  always be Daddy.

Some of you may not know your father.  Other’s may not be speaking to theirs.  You might be a child of divorce, and still blame him for leaving your Mom for your babysitter, who is now your step-mother.

You’re father may be doing 25 to life, or be one of America’s Most Wanted.  He could be in the Witness Protection Program, and you think he’s dead.

Worst of all, he is not here today and could have deserted you. When finally found him, you sadly realized that  Father did know Best and was not happy  when his wife answered the door.

Or you could be one of the lucky ones who gets to spend time with The Number One Man in Your Life:  DAD

Happy Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

