Pretty Baby

Standard

Brooke Christa Shields,  born May 31, 1965 is an American actress and model.

When she was 12 years old, Shields played a child prostitute her age in the 1978 film Pretty Baby.

In early 1980, the 14-year-old Shields was the youngest fashion model ever to appear on the cover of the top fashion publication Vogue magazine. Later that same year, Shields appeared in controversial print and TV ads for Calvin Klein jeans.
The TV ad included her saying the famous tagline, “You want to know what comes between me and my Calvin’s?
By the age of 16, Shields had become one of the most recognizable faces in the world.

Personal life

Brooke has been married twice. From April 19, 1997, to April 9, 1999, Shields was married to professional tennis player Andre Agassi; the couple had been together since 1993. Their marriage was annulled so she could remarry in the Catholic Church.  One can only  speculate that he did not get between her Calvin’s.

On April 4, 2001, she married television writer, Chris Henchy. The couple have two daughters.

Babbling Brook:

Brooke’s joking comment on her TV commercial for jeans: “If my jeans could talk, I’d be ruined.” (1980)

“I’m so naive about finances. Once when my mother mentioned an amount and I realized I didn’t understand, she had to explain: ‘That’s like three Mercedes.’ Then I understood.” (1981)

People think of me as a mannequin, all show and no substance.

“Smoking kills. If you’re killed, you’ve lost a very important part of your life.” (1982)

“Princeton gave me something that can never be taken away from me. It taught me how to think.”

“Don’t waste a minute not being happy. If one window closes, run to the next window – or break down a door.”

Leave a Reply

