Bitches Brew

Standard

Who you calling a bitch?   Miles Davis’ highest grossing album, “Bitches Brew,” is still making title waves  forty-two years after its original release on March 29, 1970 and long after the Trumpet Man’s  death in 1991.

Jazz scholar’s say, “Bitches” is an enduring term that Mr. Davis used when referring to his  band members.

Some say, it’s about voodoo and beer. I’m no scholar,  but to me, this is a no brainer. If you want to get the real,  listen to the man famous for turning his back so he could focus on his Bitches.

“The very first thing I remember in my early childhood is a flame, a blue flame jumping off a gas stove somebody lit….That stove flame is as clear as music is in my mind. I saw that flame and felt fear, real fear, for the first time in my life. But I remember it also like some kind of weird joy, too….That’s where I think my personal philosophy of life and my commitment to everything I believe in started, with that moment….In my mind I have always believed and thought since then that my motion had to be forward, away from the heat of that flame.”

Mr. Davis couldn’t stay away from the heat and  brew up but trouble. His four failed marriages and countless infidelities made for a meal best served cold. Ergo, he came to view his ex-flames as the cooks that killed his cash kitchen and all that jazz.

“Women get too frisky on you. I don’t like it when women get like that.  They get frisky and out of hand, because everything is geared to please the women – love songs, even cars.  Some women, if they don’t know what you’re doing all the time, they dislike that.  They want to know what you’re doing, but don’t want you to know what they’re doing….”

Bitchen

Leave a Reply

